LIBERATION SQUARE IN EGYPT: A Poem by Daniel Abdal-Hayy Moore


As Moses cast his staff down
so the masses are casting theirs

and their transformed and transformative
multi-million-strong serpent is swallowing

those vain wrigglings of the Pharaoh’s
police-state magicians now made

useless by the greater heartfelt

uncoiling masses of
God-sent Moses

all peace and success
be upon him (and them)

and each of his prophetic lights now
shining across every Pharaonic

tyrant’s face

______________
February 1, 2011

Daniel Abdal-Hayy Moore

5 thoughts on “LIBERATION SQUARE IN EGYPT: A Poem by Daniel Abdal-Hayy Moore

  1. hi,
    I publish a literature magazine in Turkey. I want to publish poem or story about Revulotion in Egypt. Can I translate and publish this poem???

    • Dear Faruk:
      As-salaam ‘alaikum

      Yes, I’d be honored to have the poem translated and published. Please contact me directly at my email (abdalhayy@danielmoorepoetry.com), and if possible, send me a copy when it appears, all insha’Allah. ma-salaama
      Daniel Abdal-Hayy Moore

  2. Beautiful piece. Thanks for sharing. Jazak Allah Khair!
    Succinct and powerful. I’d be honored to have your comments on my writing. I know its much poorer stuff of course.

Leave a Reply

